Skip to Content


Tom is an effective, strong advocate for his clients at all levels of Mississippi state and federal courts. He practices primarily in the areas of medical malpractice defense, insurance coverage litigation, fidelity and surety, and construction litigation. He handles all phases of coverage advice and litigation, from the coverage opinion stage to successfully litigating complex declaratory judgment actions. Tom serves as Chair of the firm’s Appellate practice group and Medical Malpractice practice group. 

Tom is an active member in the Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association. He previously served on the Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association’s Editorial Board for several years and has authored a number of articles published in The Quarterly. Tom has also been recognized by Best Lawyers in America®.  


Professional Affiliations

  • Mississippi Bar Association
  • Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association
    • Editorial Board, Past Member

Honors & Awards

  • Best Lawyers in America®, 2021 – Present
    • Insurance Law
    • Litigation – Insurance
    • Mass Tort Litigation / Class Actions – Defendants
    • Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants


  • Author of “The Time for Judicial Pay Raises is Now,” Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association Quarterly, Spring 2012
  • Author of “‘Written Off’ Medical Bills and the Collateral Source Rule: Why a Change is Needed,” Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association Quarterly, Spring 2011
  • Author of “Medical Malpractice Claims Against Non-Physician Healthcare Providers,” Mississippi Defense Lawyers Association Quarterly, Spring 2010
  • Author of “Exclusions and Countermeasures: Do Card Counters Have a Right to Play?” Gaming Law Review, 2005

Notable Cases

Read More

Reported Cases

  • Doe v. Peoples, 2019 WL 2743434 (S.D. Miss. 2019)
  • Leatherberry v. American Medical Response, 2019 WL 1529394 (S.D. Miss. 2019)
  • Ferguson v. University of Miss. Med. Ctr., 179 So. 3d 1060 (Miss. 2015)
  • Hankins v. Md. Cas. Company/Zurich Am. Ins. Co., 101 So. 3d 645 (Miss. 2012)
Read More